Freedom comes in many shapes and sizes. Why I have deleted my facebook app, my email app and many more.

google-iphone-update-makes-icloud-s-photo-stream-redundant-3bf3e4fb40Ping, zip whizz. The phone notifies me a hundred times a day that I have mail, somebody has sent me a fb message, somebody has tagged me, I have a comment, somebody has re tweeted and more. At what point did I allow my phone to control my life. All of a sudden I am living an on demand response system. I can hear the thing in my sleep as the different time zones come into play. Enough stop already. The point of technology is to make your life easier, but it doesn’t it just means you have to do things at other people’s beck and call. An urgent system full of inconsequential information has become a daily onslaught that can’t be healthy.

For example the fact that with fb messages you can see exactly when the person looked at your message. Some people may get agitated/stressed and wonder why no response. Have I upset them? Why aren’t they dealing with it? Looking and checking. ( I didn’t even entertain the downloading of the messenger App). Also phone calls asking if you received an email from a colleague at work because you haven’t responded.

Facebook-Seen-Message

So here it is.  I have taken plunge and deleted all the apps. The silence is deafening. But my day has become mine again.  I now log on to fb or my email once or twice a day through my browser and deal with them in a solid batch instead of the constant dribble of tosh. Don’t get me wrong sometimes whilst sitting at my desk I will have Facebook, Hotmail and Twitter open but they are open at my bequest.
I also have a problem with all this apps and their terms and conditions. No you can’t access my phone, accounts, location and use my data.

JunkmailCartoon2
Another little thing I have done recently is clear up my email. Instead of just deleting the junk email I scroll down to the bottom and unsubscibe. My emails have halved since I started do this at the new year. Goodbye Groupon, Teletext holidays and freecycle. I’ll look you up when I need you.
Oh the amount of time this is giving back to me is unquantifiable. What it has done it seems is given me back control of my virtual life.
I am now going to try this with my mail. When I get the endless letters from Foxton and the like, they are now going to get a mesage back telling them to remove me off their mailing list and if they don’t start making complaints or even send them back some of my rubbish.

junk-mail_2031618c
Get rid the clutter think of yourself, the planet. We only have so much time left here on this planet and I am not wasting my time anymore with non essential external demands.

 

There is no such thing as a little freedom. Either you are all free, or you are not free.

Hampstead mum

2 thoughts on “Freedom comes in many shapes and sizes. Why I have deleted my facebook app, my email app and many more.

    • Just deleted my facebook, good bye social media wasteland. Goodbye pretend friends I never really talked to in High school. Goodbye political posts! Goodbye all the new mothers and the thousands of pics of their babies. Hello real world, hello myself again.

Leave a Reply

